Central West

The Central West region is renowned for its food, wine, and excellent agricultural produce. The region extends from the temperate, elevated Central Tablelands on the western side of the Blue Mountains for almost 500km to the semi-arid Central West plains. Unique in its diversity of economy, the Central West Region of NSW is rich in natural resources with agriculture, mining and tourism being significant drivers of employment and economic opportunity. Health and education continue to grow and make a significant contribution to the region’s economy. The region encompasses the 11 local government areas of Bathurst, Blayney, Cabonne, Cowra, Forbes, Lachlan, Lithgow, Oberon, Orange, Parkes and Weddin.


Click on map to enlarge

The Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts accepts no responsibility for the content and accuracy of these individual RDA maps. National and State based RDA maps are available from the RDA website.




51,646 km²

94,303 total jobs with GRP of $15.9B
Source: AEC Group (2022-23)

Top 5 Industries by Employment

Healthcare & Social Assistance


Education & Training


Retail Trade


Agriculture Fishing & Forestry


Public Administration & Safety


Central West Silos © Christine Smith Photography
Central West Town © John Kich Photography
Central West Gardens © Cec Tilburg Photography
Central West Cattle Farm © Megan Rutherford Photography

Visit RDA Central West

The data on this page is indicative of the region and subject to change.