Northern Inland

Located in northern NSW, the Northern Inland region is conveniently situated half-way between Sydney and Brisbane. Concentrated around the growing regional cities of Tamworth and Armidale and known for its rich and productive farming lands including broadacre cropping, beef, sheep and wool. The region is large and diverse and extends from the Queensland border in the north, south to the Liverpool Plains, and west to the Moree Plains. Geographically known as the New England and North West Regions of NSW. The Northern Inland region is defined by twelve Local Government Areas: Armidale Regional, Glen Innes Severn, Gunnedah, Gwydir, Inverell, Liverpool Plains, Moree Plains, Narrabri, Tamworth Regional, Tenterfield, Uralla and Walcha.


Click on map to enlarge

The Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts accepts no responsibility for the content and accuracy of these individual RDA maps. National and State based RDA maps are available from the RDA website.




99,637 km²

93,325 total jobs with GRP of $15.8B
Source: AEC Group (2022-23)

Top 5 Industries by Employment

Healthcare & Social Assistance


Agriculture, Forestry & Fishing


Education & Training


Retail Trade




Tamworth © RDA Northern Inland
Narrabri © RDA Northern Inland
Peel Street, Tamworth © RDA Northern Inland
Barraba Silos © Destination NSW

Visit RDA Northern Inland

The data on this page is indicative of the region and subject to change.