Illawarra Shoalhaven

The Illawarra Shoalhaven region lies 70km south of Sydney stretching some 230kms south to the coastal town of Bateman’s Bay and is bordered by the Tasman Sea and its magnificent escarpment and Morton National Park. Historically, the Illawarra Shoalhaven economies have been dominated by coal mining, steelmaking, heavy manufacturing, agriculture and fishing. Today, those industries continue to flourish, and the economic base has broadened to include tourism, defence, advanced manufacturing education, construction, and health care. The Illawarra Shoalhaven comprises four Local Government Areas: Wollongong, Shellharbour, Kiama and Shoalhaven.


Click on map to enlarge

The Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts accepts no responsibility for the content and accuracy of these individual RDA maps. National and State based RDA maps are available from the RDA website.




5,656 km²

171,078 total jobs with GRP of $17.49B
Source: AEC Group (2022-23)

Top 5 Industries by Employment

Healthcare & Social Assistance




Education & Training


Retail Trade


Public Administration & Safety


Illawarra Harbour © Destination NSW
Jamberoo | RDA Illawarra
Port Kembla Steelworks | Editorial credit: Harley Kingston /
Illawarra RDA © Destination NSW

Visit RDA Illawarra Shoalhaven

The data on this page is indicative of the region and subject to change.