Mid North Coast

The Mid North Coast comprises an area of 17,218 square kilometres, halfway between Sydney and Brisbane. It is currently made up of the following Local Government areas: Coffs Harbour, Bellingen, Nambucca, Kempsey, Port Macquarie – Hastings and the former Greater Taree LGA – now an amalgamated part of MidCoast Council. It also includes the World Heritage Area of Lord Howe Island, about 600km east of Port Macquarie. The region has a population of around 269,000 people.

Click on map to enlarge




17,218 km²

GRP of $12.1B
Source: AEC Group DataAu 2018-19

Top 3 Industries by Employment

Healthcare & Social Assistance


Retail Trade


Accommodation & Food


Bellingen Store © Mid North Coast RDA
RDA Mid North Coast © Destination NSW
Coffs Harbour © Destination NSW
Lord Howe Island

Visit RDA Mid North Coast

The data on this page is indicative of the region and subject to change.